top of page
  • Writer's picturecricket forum

European Cricket Team, Heading To The T20 World Cup 2024!

T20 World Cup
T20 World Cup

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 will feature a record 20 teams with emerging nations battling to earn one of eight places to be decided in regional qualifiers around the globe.

This qualification series will start with 28 European nations playing in three groups as part of the Sub-Regional Qualifiers.

The first European Sub-Regional Qualifiers - SRQ C - will be played in Belgium on 28 June and feature eight teams - Belgium, Denmark, Gibraltar, Hungary, Israel, Malta, Portugal, and Spain.

Spain (36) is best-placed among this group in the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings, with Denmark (38), Belgium (43), and Portugal (46) all close behind as of 25 June.

The winner of the SRQ C group will go on to face Germany and the winners of the European SRQ A and SRQ B groups in a Regional Final series in 2023. Other European sides who fail to automatically qualify for the 2024 T20 World Cup through their performance at the 2022 tournament will re-join the 2024 qualification at the European finals.

The top two teams at the European Regional Final series will earn a place at the 2024 tournament alongside 12 automatically-qualifying teams made up of:

  • the USA and West Indies as the hosts in 2024.

  • the top eight teams at the Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia later this year.

  • the next highest-ranked teams in the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings as of 14 November 2022.

The other European Sub-Regional Qualifiers will be played in Finland and feature:

SRQ A: Croatia, Cyprus, Finland, Greece, Isle of Man, Italy, Romania, Serbia, Sweden, Turkey - starts 12 July.

SRQ B: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Guernsey, Luxembourg, Norway, Slovenia, Switzerland - starts 24 July.

bottom of page